Skip to content

The Commissioner is committed to, where appropriate, working in collaboration with other Commissioners, police forces and partner organisations either nationally, regionally or within the county for the benefit of Cumbria. 

North West Joint Committee

The Commissioner is a member of the North West Joint Committee which includes all the commissioners from the North West. These are – Cumbria, Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Lancashire and North Wales. The terms of reference for this committee can be viewed here.

A Collaboration Service General Agreement has been signed by all Police & Crime Commissioners and Chief Constables of the North West Joint Committee. To view a copy of the agreement click here.

Safer Cumbria

The Safer Cumbria Partnership provides a platform for the partner organisations involved, alongside the wider third sector and voluntary network, to work collaboratively to deliver a co-ordinated approach to Criminal Justice, Combatting Drugs, Serious Violence and Counter Terrorism across Cumbria. To read the Safer Cumbria strategy, click here.

Collaboration Agreements

Detailed below are some of the collaboration work which is currently being undertaken.

Forensic Services

An agreement is in place for collaborative procurement of forensic science services by Police and Crime Commissioners in the South-West of England and Wales and the North-West of England.

List of National S22A Agreements

Section 22A Police Act 1996 provides for chief officers and local policing bodies, (which include Police and Crime Commissioners), to enter into collaboration agreements. While there are many 22A agreements in place, the list below relates to the national 22A agreements:

ACRO – Criminal Records Office
Action Fraud/National Fraud Intelligence Unit
NABIS – National Ballistics Intelligence Service
National CHIS (Covert Human Intelligence Service)
NFLMS – National Firearms Licensing Management System
NPAS – National Police Air Service
NPCC – National Police Chiefs’ Council
NPoCC – National Police Coordination Centre
NWCU – National Wildlife Crime Unit
NAVCIS – National Vehicle Crime Intelligence Service
NPFDU – National Freedom of Information and Data Protection Unit
Collaboration over the Provision of Armed Police from the Civil Nuclear Constabulary PNLD – Police National Legal Database
Modern Slavery Police Transformation Programme